Skip to content

lactivism

May 7, 2011

My cousin Rachel, a nurse at a pediatrician’s office, wrote on Facebook that “lactivists” owe her some flowers or ice cream for making her day way harder than it needed to be. She wrote,

It’s one thing to be supportive of breast feeding, but the poor mom I talked to on the phone today recoiled in horror when I told her it would be better to supplement with formula rather then cow’s milk for her 9-month-old. You would have thought I suggested she poison the kid. She’s done a great job of feeding her baby, there’s no reason for her to feel the guilt she feels at supplementing with formula. Whoever decided that this issue needs to be so polarized owes me a sundae.

These comments brought forth a rush of good-humored Facebook conversation. As the mother of a happy, healthy, well-bonded consumer of baby formula, I commented,

I’m a Similactivist. I’m Similac Sensitive so thanks for letting me express my bottled up feelings on your wall. Just had to get it off my chest. I feel 2% better. I’m not having a cow, just milking the pun opportunity for all it’s worth.

Since we’re on the topic, here’s a picture of Oliver working on his formula at a Nerd Party last year.

Related Post
DUI It Yourself

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 11:05 am

    one of the best posts ever. love it!!!

  2. Rachel permalink
    May 9, 2011 8:58 pm

    Hey, I’m internet famous! Seriously, if I ever have another baby, I’m going to name it Similactivist, in honor of this post.

Leave a Reply

