Skip to content

prank on a string

April 7, 2010

This year’s April Fools’ joke was a success.

I cut a long, long string from a spool of white thread, and used a needle to draw one end of it through the back of my cardigan. I crumpled up a couple inches on the outside end and made them stick to the black fabric, as if a stray string had clung to it in the dryer. The rest of the string, we’re talking a yard or two, was inside the sweater and hidden from view.

When Peter came home, I was innocently chopping vegetables in the kitchen. He came around back to greet me with a hug, and noticed the stray string stuck on my sweater. Being the nice husband (also lint hunter and fuzz hater) that he is, he tried to pick the string off of me. The longer he pulled, the bigger the problem became.

I tried to string him along, but my ignoring was no match for his disbelief, chuckles, and “Oh, wow, I must be unraveling something!” When I broke down, we laughed about it for a long time. Maybe you’d like to try it next year.

Related Posts
Help Needled
Bee String
Pranks
No Cereal in Bed

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 1:15 pm

    So fun! I’m glad you did it…

  2. April 7, 2010 1:50 pm

    Poor Peter, you’d think he’d learn to be hanging on by a thread for the next prank or joke seamed on him. Thanks for keeping us all in stitches.!

  3. April 14, 2010 12:35 pm

    That’s a great idea!

Leave a Reply

