Skip to content

breakfast luncheon dinner

December 4, 2009

When we were with some friends last night, the women were talking about an upcoming event at church. What’s it called? Christmas Tea? Christmas Brunch? Oh yes, the Women’s Christmas Luncheon.

Peter said, “You could just call it the Christmas Luncheon; no guy would show up to a luncheon.”

Men, is this true? Have you ever been, would you ever go, or have you ever been invited to a luncheon?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:44 am

    My mom maybe pulled me to one when I was 8–can’t remember for sure. But, no, no luncheons.

  2. December 4, 2009 10:15 am

    Even though I am very English, I have never been invited to a luncheon. I would attend, but probably with mild trepidation.

  3. December 4, 2009 11:09 am

    what’s a luncheon?

    Well, if you want to get all etymological

  4. Garibaldi permalink
    December 4, 2009 11:23 am

    I’ve never been to a luncheon.

    In our church we have an annual ladies lunch and three men’s breakfasts each year. Men breakfast and ladies lunch.

  5. December 4, 2009 11:55 am

    I’m a GIRL and I don’t like luncheons, as a rule. Tiny food. Definitely not for boys.

    • Frank Martens permalink
      December 4, 2009 12:42 pm

      You’re right Tiny food is not for boys, especially growing boys. So if definitely not for boys, then how much more not for men?

      There’s no way I’d go to a luncheon.

  6. December 4, 2009 4:15 pm

    weird. luncheon all of the sudden became one of those words that sounds like gibberish when you say it too much.

    luncheon. i can’t even talk about it. so weird.

  7. michellehankins permalink
    December 4, 2009 4:49 pm

    Jessica, I will answer for my husband. No he would not go! He will not even go to the tea room with me – don’t even ask anymore.

    • December 7, 2009 4:14 am

      Now, I understand that tea-rooms sound rather prim and possibly girly, but now that I’ve eaten scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam in a tea-room, they’ve gone up in my estimation, somewhat.

  8. Rachel Devers permalink
    December 7, 2009 3:46 pm

    Well, when free food is involved, I bet a guy would come regardless of what it was called. In college our campus ministry had what we called “Lunch In” every monday. Free food and a devotion brought lots of guys.

Leave a Reply

