Skip to content

christmas gift idea

December 3, 2009

A few years ago, I purchased nice leather journals for my Mom, Dad, and all four grandparents. At the top of each page, I wrote a question for them to answer about their lives. The idea was for them to reminisce and share their stories with the coming generations.

One of my grandpas has Alzheimer’s and not a lot of interest in writing in his book, but when I’ve visited, he’s been more than happy to talk about his memories while I take notes in the book. Mom has filled in a bunch of her pages, and Dad was the rockstar of the bunch by answering all of the questions and driving two hours to give the completed journal back to me at work one day. That book is such a precious heirloom even now that I hardly know what to do with it! (Happy Birthday, Dad!)

The people in your life have stories, and they might feel honored if you asked to hear them. Feel free to copy my questions or use them as a springboard to write your own.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    December 3, 2009 2:10 pm

    I was actually recently thinking about doing this! I’d love to see your questions, but the link is giving me a ‘404 error: page not found’.

  2. December 3, 2009 2:19 pm

    Ooo, yay! I’ve also been really wanting to do this for a while now! But same thing – I’m getting an error message as well. I’d love to see your question ideas…

  3. jess permalink*
    December 3, 2009 3:03 pm

    Sorry guys. I’m out and about, but will try to figure out the problem when I get home. Until then, if anyone knows how to make pages or posts on wordpress without prominently featuring them on my blog’s homepage, let me know!

  4. December 3, 2009 4:49 pm

    It linked for me. And oooh I really like this idea.

  5. Julie B. permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:10 pm

    Wow. That is an awesome idea. It’s especially cool to get their handwritten notes (if you can read them).

    I got the error message from my reader, but when I was on your blog I could link to the questions. Maybe others will find that works for them?

  6. December 4, 2009 8:38 am

    Great idea and questions.
    I bought a store-bought variety of the same idea, but for Moms/Grandmas with questions already printed. My Mom-in-law wrote in and returned hers, but my own Mom is a timid writer… I love the idea of creating questions AND of spending time listening to answers for those less comfortable with writing.

  7. December 4, 2009 6:00 pm

    you’re dad has the same handwriting as MY dad. dahn, dahn, DUHN!!! (that’s like mystery music or something.)

    i love this idea. thanks for sharing.

  8. December 7, 2009 7:06 am

    I love this idea. And thanks so much for sharing your questions!!

  9. December 15, 2009 11:37 pm

    What an amazing idea… I’m TOTALLY copying this!!

Leave a Reply

