Skip to content

elemeno

November 30, 2009

Over the weekend, my nephew and father-in-law were watching Sesame Street characters sing the alphabet. Alphabet songs bring back some funny memories, don’t they?

I remember thinking it over for awhile when I was little, going up to my mom in her garden and asking, “Mom, what’s an elemeno?” I thought it was an animal or something, but I guess it was just the four letters before P!

Did you (or your kids) get confused about anything while learning your letters?

Related Post
The Leopard’s Spots

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    December 1, 2009 8:20 am

    I thought there was an extra ‘n’ for a while…w x y N z…oops!! 🙂

  2. Kate permalink
    December 1, 2009 11:24 am

    Not having anything to do with the alphabet: Growing up I used to think in the meal-time prayer that we were asking our Lord Jesus to come and “beourguest.” I didn’t know what it meant for Jesus to do that but whatever it was our family all agreed at every meal, that He should come and do that.

  3. Stephanie G. permalink
    December 1, 2009 11:53 am

    I used to babysit for a boy that sang “…H I J K L pimento cheese…” I always thought that was pretty funny

  4. Issy permalink
    December 1, 2009 1:31 pm

    Our oldest son, who is now almost 30, learned his alphabet at 21 months by singing along with the Sesame Street gang. He ran those letters together too, so fast sometimes, he almost missed them altogether. What memories.

  5. December 2, 2009 1:23 pm

    My daughter (5) wrote out the alphabet in random order this week. She got every letter, too.

    I don’t think I could do it without a huge amount of thought. But it made me wonder why it’s in the order it’s in.

Leave a Reply

