Skip to content

mop top

August 21, 2009

One of my coworkers headed toward the door, saying she was going to get a haircut. With incredible tact, I asked if she’d ever read the book Mop Top. This book by Don Freeman is a favorite from my childhood, and I was surprised that no one within earshot was familiar with it.

Another coworker found the book at the library, loved it, brought it to work the following day, and began reading it aloud at my desk. A crowd began to gather. Libraries and schools have story time, but I’d never heard of story time at a church reception desk! Everyone enjoyed it. Maybe you and the kids in your life would like it, too.

Mop Top is the story of a boy who does not want to get his hair cut. For me, the illustrations and alliterations really make the book.

mop top

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly Piper permalink
    August 21, 2009 7:32 am

    I’m going to request it from the library today! Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. August 21, 2009 9:34 am

    My favorite, though seemingly unknown childhood book is The Sixteen Hand Horse by Fred Gwynn. It’s great. I have a very beat up copy.

    oh my. looks like it’s out of print?! http://www.amazon.com/Sixteen-Hand-Horse-Fred-Gwynne/dp/0671961004

  3. August 21, 2009 9:34 am

    Thanks for the recommendation. Never heard of it. Have 3 boys who don’t like to get their hair cut, though!!

  4. Julie B. permalink
    August 21, 2009 2:51 pm

    Ooh..we like Don Freeman. We’ll have to get this book too! Thanks for the idea.

Trackbacks

  1. barber got the bug « ten digit lumber

Leave a Reply

