Skip to content

snooze and dismiss

August 2, 2009
tags:

When my phone alarm goes off in the morning, I am given two options: Snooze and Dismiss. My first thought almost every morning is that those words are misspelled. And my second thought is no, they’re not, we went through this yesterday!

Why do some common words just look wrong sometimes, in certain contexts, fonts,  or sizes? Are there any words that trip you up?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie G. permalink
    August 2, 2009 8:46 pm

    “weird”; “commitment”; “absence”; sadly, I sometimes get confused when writing out “Minnesota”; I am quite OCD regarding spelling, so I’m sure there are many more words that sketch me out a bit and don’t look right when written.

  2. August 2, 2009 8:47 pm

    what’s the difference between “snooze” and “dismiss”. they seem synonymous to me.

    maybe the options could be “Snooze” and “Thanks. That’ll do. I’m up now.”

  3. Malia permalink
    August 2, 2009 10:30 pm

    surprise. coercion. supersede. prerogative. mediocre. nuisance. asinine. truly. Here’s just some of the batch from a past “misspeller”, OCD and dyslexia sufferer 🙂 Love your Blog!

  4. August 3, 2009 6:07 am

    recommend! I always think there are two c’s.
    weird is another one that I always need to think about too.

  5. Laura permalink
    August 3, 2009 6:08 am

    You know, I’ve pondered the EXACT same thing about those two words on my phone! Their spellings look strange, even though I know they’re right.

  6. August 3, 2009 9:30 am

    Dispatch. It looks stranger the more times you type it.

  7. August 3, 2009 11:14 am

    Virtually any word with the letter “z” in it has an awkward feeling. In all seriousness, the letter makes me uncomfortable.

    • August 3, 2009 11:49 am

      any of those words where you’d use an s if you were British leave me a little confused. Like sympathize or patronize.

      Not like horizon, the horizon is ok.

  8. August 3, 2009 6:20 pm

    In my opinion, dispatch isn’t the only word that looks stranger the more you type it. Retyping a word over and over somehow trips a “MISSPELLED WORD!” alarm in my brain, one which is silenced only by a visit to dictionary.com…

  9. August 3, 2009 7:27 pm

    broccoli

    Learning a new language (french) later in life, has really messed with my ability to spell well. I too, am very grateful for dictionary.com

  10. August 3, 2009 9:40 pm

    What about: probably(probaly), or Tomorrow(tommorrow), Address(adress), those are the ones that get me the most.

    On a side note when I was in a grocery store many moons ago, someone asked me where the peanut butter was. For the life of me I could not figure out, or recall what Peanut-Butter was. All I could picture was peanuts with their shells on in a tub of butter. I thought how strange, these two items dont mix. The sad thing is that I worked in the grocery store.

  11. jered permalink
    August 3, 2009 9:55 pm

    Wednesday (wenz-day)

    But this made me laugh because seeing the word snooze as a literary introduction to my day always makes me think the same thing. I have stared at the phone several times in my dreary stupor wondering when the spelling is going to auto-correct.

  12. August 5, 2009 6:22 pm

    This reminded me of “cease and desist.”

    That’s all I had to say.

  13. Davy permalink
    August 7, 2009 9:46 pm

    Guarantee. I often start to type that word in our computer system at work (which has no spell check). Usually, I end up resorting to backspace and finding a new word because I can’t decide if it’s an “a” or an “e” after the “r.”

Leave a Reply

