Skip to content

grape nuts

July 8, 2009

I see neither grapes nor nuts. How do Grape Nuts get off calling themselves Grape Nuts?

A few years ago, I broke down and called Post Cereal. After a few minutes on hold, I was told that the original cereal recipe included grape sugar, which gave it a slight grape taste. The cereal’s crunchiness explains the “nuts” in the name, though personally, I think it is reminiscent of nut shells. (Now that I look at the Post website, it is possible that I remember wrong or was told wrong.)

If you’re ever curious about the oddities of your cereal, just call the “Comments or Questions” phone number on the box.

Related Post
What’s in a Name (Cereal Serial, Part 4)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. michellehankins permalink
    July 8, 2009 5:59 am

    When I was twelve or thirteen I wrote (no email back in those days) the company of Minute Rice asking why they called themselves Minute Rice when it took more than a minute to cook. I received a two sentence letter telling me it was because compared to other rices theirs took just minutes to prepare.

    I was thrilled to have heard back from them!

  2. Rachel D. permalink
    July 8, 2009 7:29 am

    At least you didn’t burst your bubble over the grape nuts that aren’t real grape nuts. Did you hear about this lady and the Captain Crunchberries?

    http://www.loweringthebar.net/2009/06/crunchberry-litigation-the-saga-continues.html

  3. Conner permalink
    July 8, 2009 8:44 am

    Wow! The Post website brings up an even bigger question: What does it mean when the grape nuts box says that the grape nuts are pre-digested?

  4. July 8, 2009 11:46 am

    I always thought the cereal was so named because it resembled actual grape “nuts” (seeds)…..?

  5. July 10, 2009 4:17 pm

    hey, i remember this. i was hanging out with your family when we made that call.

Trackbacks

  1. no cereal in bed « ten digit lumber

Leave a Reply

