Skip to content

safety pin perplexity

June 24, 2009

A consciencious person valiantly recycled this nametag twice—once by fixing the broken clip with a safety pin, and once by setting it on my desk for me to reuse. Oh, the perplexion it has brought to my life!

HOW DID YOU GET THAT SAFETY PIN IN THERE?

nametag 2 nametag3 nametag5

Disbelieving readers are encouraged to visit the Freaky Nametag display at my desk.

Museum Hours
Monday: 9am–5pm
Tuesday: 9am–5pm
Wednesday: 9am–5pm
Thursday: 9am–5pm
Friday: 9am–5pm
Saturday & Sunday: Closed

5 Comments leave one →
  1. scottjisaok permalink
    June 25, 2009 7:03 am

    so how do you get it in there? the engineer in me is going crazy!

  2. June 25, 2009 7:55 am

    I think I may have the answer, and it comes from looking at the assumptions you’ve got there.

    Is it possible that this name-tag has only been recycled once? I have a sneaky suspicion that some name-tags come with a ‘What? No Top Pocket?’ safety pin for Those With Nothing To Clip To.

    This would allow the use of Large Machines to assemble the clip within the name-tag. And everybody knows, you can do anything with Large Machines.

    Have I got the right answer? Maybe I have, and then maybe I haven’t. You can never tell with engineers.

    I’d like to apologise for my use of extraneous capitals throughout my post, I’ve been reading a lot of A. A. Milne recently – it’s my only excuse.

    • June 25, 2009 8:24 am

      The “it was made that way theory,” first suggested by my husband over dinner, is correct. What a letdown! Anyway, I think it looks ridiculous.

      • June 25, 2009 9:44 am

        I guess that’s what makes it a ‘deluxe’ badge holder (top-loading). “Only one way to affix your badge holder? You need the all-new deluxe badge holder. It’s got two fixing methods.”

        You could use the clip and pin on alternate days of your conference/visit. Save making so many holes in your shirt, or something. It must be important to somebody… I think I should lay off the caffeine.

  3. June 25, 2009 8:42 am

    I was envisioning many man-hours at a desk, with numerous failed attempts, sweaty forehead, and pliers in hand – getting that safety pen in there like that. Alas, my so called prophetic vision failed. BUMMER.

Leave a Reply

