Skip to content

pranks

June 18, 2009
tags:

Pranks are pretty much my love language. I love my husband a lot, so he is usually the recipient. I like tricking him because he responds well and it is incredibly bonding to laugh together in the aftermath! My pranks are pretty tame, minimally premeditated, and generally involve hiding, purposeful misunderstandings, or pushing buttons (usually in the figurative sense). I’ve got some good stories, but since I mentioned button pushing, here’s an example.

We rented a car for a trip to Chicago, and the seats were equipped with both heat and air conditioning. Somewhere in Wisconsin, I was fortunate enough to discover this feature, and managed to secretly turn Peteโ€™s seat heat on full force. The result was fantastic!

Have you pulled any good ones?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Frank Martens permalink
    June 18, 2009 1:45 pm

    Did he think he peed his pants for a second?

  2. June 18, 2009 3:56 pm

    Please make a miniseries out of this subject! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • June 18, 2009 6:06 pm

      at first, i thought you wrote, “please make a ministry out of this subject”

      this just in: jess heads up the pranks ministry!

    • June 20, 2009 7:54 am

      Yeah, I second that motion!

  3. Mom permalink
    June 18, 2009 4:38 pm

    Please write about the crackers in the bed prank. It was a great prank!

  4. June 19, 2009 7:11 am

    One of the favorite reactions I’ve ever gotten came from a college roommate. Just before lights out and while she was engrossed in a phone call, I hid under the 15 blankets on her bed and lay along the edge of the bunk against the wall. I also did the pillows-under-the-quilt trick on my own bed so it would look like I was sleeping. I waited a few minutes after she was cozily tucked in (while trying not to a) suffocate or b) snicker when she was trying to tell me a story and kept wondering how I’d gone to sleep so fast) then reached out grabbed ahold of her ankle. It was one of those screams that shattered windows, caused car alarms to go off and dogs to start barking… mind you the campus was 15 miles from the nearest town. When I stopped laughing long enough to wipe my eyes, I saw her standing in the hallway frantically clutching all the blankets off her bed…still screaming, panting and gasping threats. I think people came down from other floors to see what was going on.

  5. June 20, 2009 1:44 pm

    i just want to say that i read this to my wife and she immediately starting laughing from the line ‘pranks are my love language.’ which is much to be said as i read to her as we were in the hospital with our son (not always the funniest time). i can sympathize with your husband because i have been on the receiving end of many a prank. i always to try to get her back but it never works quite as well.

    thanks for the laugh

    john

  6. June 22, 2009 8:45 am

    I laughed quite a few times before falling asleep on Saturday night, thinking about Pete’s reaction. That was probably one of the funniest things ever – just knowing what was going through his mind at during the moment. I’m still giggling, and it’s been three days!

  7. Dawn permalink
    June 25, 2009 2:13 pm

    My husband is the children’s pastor at our church. We play pranks on the other pastor’s. When our youth pastor went to the hospital with his wife to have his third baby we sabotaged his car while it was parked in the hospital parking lot with streamers and cans and bows and shoe polish writing that said “Just Married”. The next morning he had to drive to the front of the hospital to pick up his new child and his “NEW” wife. The nurses and everyone in the ER were congratulating them.

  8. Claire permalink
    June 27, 2009 7:01 pm

    Sean often tells me that sarcasm is his love language. Man does he love me ๐Ÿ™‚

    (Thankfully it is one of my love languages also!)

  9. July 8, 2009 1:38 pm

    I found this post after reading your recent blog about Grape Nuts. What I found interesting is the love language quote. Which I’m guessing you have read the book about different love languages and how we need to recognize our spouses language before we can totally understanding each other better. Please tell me I am on the right track here….Its funny but my wife had me read that book, or at least the pages that she high-lighted for me. After all she knew I would never read the whole book. I guess she knew me pretty well. Even more so after reading the book. I forget what my love language is but she says I do a much better job at it….anyways sorry if I rambled I just really liked your quote and enjoy reading your posts. Which btw I found totally randomly. Glad I did, Thanks for sharing!

    • July 10, 2009 6:05 am

      Glad you made it over here! I haven’t actually read the whole book, but am somewhat familiar with the concept.

Trackbacks

  1. no cereal in bed « ten digit lumber
  2. prank on a string « ten digit lumber

Leave a Reply

