Skip to content

peak peek pique

June 11, 2009
tags:

These three words sound the same. Number three is my reason for writing this post, as it is often confused with the others.

Peak: the top of a hill or mountain ending in a point
Beat egg whites until they form stiff peaks; fold into pancake batter.

Peek: to take a brief look
Since you’re a mechanic, can you take a peek at my noisy muffler?

Pique: to excite or arouse especially by a provocation, challenge, or rebuff
Your comment about the Federal Reserve really piqued my interest

Here are some other similar words.

Peaked (ˈpē-kəd): being pale and wan or emaciated
When he reached the summit of Mount Everest, the climber felt pretty peaked.

Peking: a old name for Beijing, China
On the geography final, no Peking was allowed.

Reference: Merriam Webster Online.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie G. permalink
    June 11, 2009 12:22 pm

    As a girl who took ballet for 10 years, this post makes me think of a pique turn (pronounced pee-kay). Ooh, also, with the same pronunciation, pique is a type of fabric.

  2. Julie B. permalink
    June 12, 2009 1:36 pm

    Ah…yes! My husband and I had a debate over how you spell “pique” as mentioned in your third definition. We didn’t have a dictionary handy and we couldn’t agree on it (I was thinking it was something like that, but I don’t remember if I had it right)..so we ended up changing the word because we weren’t satisfied that we had spelled it right…

    Now, if I can just remember that!

  3. June 12, 2009 10:53 pm

    Maybe this’ll help:

    The peak of my ballet career was reached Peking; interest was piqued when someone took a peek at my peaked performance of a pique turn in pique.

Leave a Reply

