Skip to content

eschatological hot dish

June 8, 2009

I dreamed that an enemy attacked us with EMP (electromagnetic pulse) bombs which instantly fried all of our technology—phones, computers, TVs, radios, vehicles, lights, and important household appliances. Having recently learned about EMPs (in real life and in my dream), I knew we were back to basics for a long, long time. I gazed sadly at the yogurt, cottage cheese, and milk (pasteurized and homogenized) in my dark refridgerator, knowing that they wouldn’t last long, and there would not be more where they came from.

Everyone was out and about, trying to figure out what had happened and what to do. In all the hubbub, I suddenly became a community organizer. “Hey everyone,” I said, “bring all your non-perishable food items here and put them in these Rubbermaid bins.” If we pooled our pasta, canned peas, cream of mushroom soup,  and tuna-type resources, I figured we’d be all set for casserole, which would be way better than trying to live on just one ingredient.

Then there was the issue of the meat beginning to thaw in our freezers, ground beef being my particular concern. I was instructing my husband to build a huge fire in the street so that everyone could cook their meat, when…

I woke up. When I told him the dream, Peter said, “Jess, you just had an apocalyptic meal planning dream.”

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 12:13 am

    hahahaha, that’s hilarious. i am so not this person. i’m glad you and your kind will be there to cook for us. 🙂

  2. Kari Valliere permalink
    June 9, 2009 6:51 am

    That is precisely what happens in Terri Blackstock’s Restoration Series (http://www.terriblackstock.com/books/adult-fiction-books/restoration-series/). Very interesting and entertaining read!

  3. June 9, 2009 7:40 am

    From the author who brought you “Nightmares of Nomadic Neopolitan,” we present “Dreams of Dystopian Dishes.”

  4. June 9, 2009 10:06 am

    Here’s a link to the perfect cookbook for every apocolyptic need: http://www.amazon.com/Apocalypse-Chow-Well-When-Power/dp/1416908242/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1244563518&sr=8-3

  5. June 9, 2009 11:34 am

    🙂

  6. Dawn permalink
    June 9, 2009 11:34 am

    I read that particular Blackstock series – scared me straight.

  7. scottjisaok permalink
    June 9, 2009 1:35 pm

    I almost burst out laughing at work, this is great 🙂

    Dreams are so entertaining!

  8. June 9, 2009 2:56 pm

    OMG this is so funny but true….Kind of makes my dream of being attacked by an old man with a knife seem boring. Did I mention I thought I was a cat and not human while I was being attacked. My wife said I shrieked like a cat in my sleep…Just another good reason as to why you should never eat before you go to bed. BTW can you post the recipe for the casserole:)

  9. EvanS permalink
    September 26, 2009 8:31 pm

    An EMP may come.
    However, when THE apocolypse comes, we will go.

    But the day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything in it will be laid bare.
    2 Peter 3:10

Leave a Reply

