Skip to content

fun folder finale

June 2, 2009

(Part 3 of 3)

Just a couple more emails:

On Light Bulbs
Are you the light bulb orderer?

The little florescent bulb at my desk is flashing and flickering and driving me batty. If I turn it off, I work hunched over in the dark, like poor Bob Cratchit. If I turn it on, the light sounds like a bug zapper, and I feel like the bug.

If, as a replacement, you install a tanning bulb at my desk, ministry assistants will flock, in droves, to work at my desk, and I can go on more vacations. Or, if the installation tarries, I can go to the Institution.

On Communication
Okay, so our new strategy is that from now on I’ll forward them to B, who will forward them to A, who will forward them to M, who will forward them to P, who will forward them to G’s voicemail, who will call them back and tell them to call me, who, upon receiving the call, will send it to you, who can send it to R.  If people find this structure hard to deal with, we can lovingly remind them that structure is there for their good, because it keeps things running smoothly and efficiently in a large church.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 5:42 am

    I’m sure your coworkers get giddy when they see they’ve received an email from you.

  2. Michelle Hankins permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:26 am

    I wished that I worked with you so that I could get these emails. What fun it would bring to each day. Glad your logging them. Hope you feel better soon!

  3. Amanda permalink
    June 4, 2009 12:20 am

    I know that I’m late on this, but you didn’t include my FAVORITE e-mail: “What Is a Christmas Hockey Stick?” You sent it to me in response to an E-Star that had just gone out that had an item on our annual December Budget Hockey Stick Awareness (or something like that). Anyway, you gave me quite a scare because I thought at first you were pointing out a typo in the E-Star (that somehow we had confused budget info with Christmas). It wasn’t until I kept reading that I realized you were reporting on the hockey stick phenomenon with cookies/staff sugar intake in December. I will forward that message to you to make sure it gets in the “fun folder” archives. Sorry for this longest comment ever.

  4. June 4, 2009 9:08 pm

    i recognize that communication email 🙂

    pretty sure i snorted when it was read…

Trackbacks

  1. news from the biggest desk at bethlehem « ten digit lumber

Leave a Reply

