Skip to content

urban animal extravaganza

May 11, 2009

I received an email at work from a company that provides animals for petting zoos, advertisements, and so on. They offer to

bring…excitement to your event with sheep, goats, calves, rabbits, ponies, donkeys, chickens, ducks, pigs, llamas, and/or reindeer.

I forwarded it to Jeremy, one of my colleagues, saying,

Thought you might be interested in this…

He responded,

Interested because I’d find it udderly hilarious? Or because you heard that I was thinking of holding an urban animal extravaganza in the church parking lot?

To which I replied,

I was hoping that you’d think it an excellent outreach event. See, both the calves and calve-nots would be rabbitly excited to goat to this event, or at least duck in to sheep what’s going on. If we don’t know their names, we could ask “¿Como te llamas?” and in case of precipitation, we could invite them to “Come in from the reindeer.”

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 10:19 pm

    jess,
    you’re brilliant. i’m almost jealous. well, i’m the healthy kind of jealous.

  2. Dad permalink
    May 12, 2009 5:20 am

    and the bumper stickers would say “oink if you love Jesus”.

  3. May 12, 2009 8:35 am

    You are a force. That was almost overwhelming.

  4. Cristina permalink
    May 13, 2009 12:32 pm

    Hi Jess! Yes, I don’t know Lisa well, but we went to the south site with them so I know her from there.

  5. Cristina permalink
    May 13, 2009 12:40 pm

    So you’re so clever I think you should come up with a caption for this photo…http://www.mycharmingkids.net/2009/05/name-that-photo-contest.html

    I’m pretty sure you’d come up with a good one!

  6. Anne permalink
    May 15, 2009 10:37 pm

    I see he had no response.

  7. May 27, 2009 5:46 pm

    funny!

  8. carpoolqueen permalink
    July 11, 2009 7:00 pm

    My best friend suggested I check out your blog. Now I see why. I’ll be lurking.

Trackbacks

  1. there’s a lot on my plate « ten digit lumber

Leave a Reply

