Skip to content

morning conversation

May 6, 2009

Pete (awake): How did you sleep last night?

Jess: Good, except for the last 30 minutes of snoozing.

Pete (asleep, but oh so earnest): Whose herb garden did you go to?

Jess: Huh?

Pete wakes up and wonders why he just said that. They both laugh. Jess decides to ask “Whose herb garden did you go to?” whenever things start to get confusing.

That reminds me… once my dad fell asleep in the middle of a sentence. Perhaps a family member would like to share that story in the comments section.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. crystal bowers permalink
    May 6, 2009 11:18 am

    the other night i came home from work to find johnathon in bed with some extra blankets… so i inquired…

    “it must have been cold in here?”

    he said.. “yeah it was… we need to get this on the list of things to talk about”

    i… thinking he’s upset that i already changed the bedding over from the winter comforter to the summer comforter (i mean… it is May….) reply… “oh okay babe…”

    he says… “yeah… we need to figure out how we’re going to celebrate the staff birthdays”

    so then i just started laughing at him… i think work is too much on his mind..

    and he told me the other night i said to him… “how are you patoob?” no idea…

  2. May 6, 2009 1:30 pm

    I’m sure my wife can attest that I am worthless after 9 pm on a week night. I remember one convo in which we went from talking about our feelings (her idea) to racoons in the forest (my subconscious’s brilliant idea.)

  3. May 6, 2009 11:18 pm

    Our funniest so far was my groggy comment in the morning reminding Caleb to call the zoo to tell them we weren’t going to make it. At the time, I thought we were having a perfectly inteligent conversation.

    The other night, though, Caleb was studying in his sleep and explained some very difficult law term. He made sure to note it was a “gold nugget.” 🙂

  4. May 7, 2009 7:12 am

    OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi

  5. taraschmidt24 permalink
    May 7, 2009 6:24 pm

    I wish Dan would start saying funny things! Is there a way to get your loved ones to sleep talk??? I’d like to know if there is…:)

  6. Mom permalink
    May 7, 2009 8:08 pm

    I can’t remember the story about Dad that you are referring to. Are you going to share it? Please do.

  7. May 7, 2009 9:43 pm

    When Caleb was a newborn (which was really not that long ago…just months really), he was waking up every 1.5 hours to eat. We were tortured and sleep-deprived.

    At one point during the night while we pseudo-awake, I ask Ben, “Where is Caleb?”

    (Of course, he’s in the bassinet sleeping…)

    Ben’s response: “He’s on the desktop, on the computer.”

    I said, “What????”

    (Because no good parent would put their newborn on a computer, you know.)

    All he mumbled was, “I don’t know what I just said.”

    Oh, dear. Talk about a sweet and confused husband. Yay, we love parenting!

  8. May 14, 2009 10:33 pm

    I thought I was the only one this happens to. I could not stop laughing. I once told my wife I got my foot stuck in a bucket during the middle of a conversation after I had drifted to sleep. We may be stealing your idea of using that as our inside joke for times when things get confusing.

  9. June 1, 2009 6:01 pm

    One time my dad (who is a missionary in Papua New Guinea) had taken an early morning motorcycle ride to a distant village. He was closing the morning church service there with a prayer and heard himself saying, “And we pray for the trees that are going to be cut down” and realized he had fallen asleep in his own prayer.

    I LOVED this story you shared. I really think I’m going to have add your idiom to our fam’s favs.

Leave a Reply

