Skip to content

don’t be a blahberer

April 13, 2009

What You Can Do

If you know who you’re calling for, ask for them by name. The receptionist* will request details as needed.

What Was

Caller: Hi, my name is So-and-So from such-and-such a place in such-and-such-a-state. Last week I called about blah blah blah blah blah, and you had me talk to so-and-so about blah blah blah blah blah. He told me blah blah blah blah blah…

Receptionist: Excuse me, Sir. Could you please hold while I take another call? [Pause] Okay, go ahead.

Caller: So, so-and-so told me blah blah blah blah blah and that I should call to set up an appointment with blah blah or blah blah by talking to someone named Marjorie**. Do you know who Marjorie is?

Receptionist: Yes. Let me transfer you to her office. [Transfers call to Marjorie]

What Might Have Been

Caller: Hello. Can I please speak with Marjorie?

Receptionist: Yes, here she is. [Transfers call to Marjorie]

*Far from expressing actual frustration, work stories on this blog are borne out of my own amusement. I hope they contribute to yours.
**Not her real name. I made it up. I mean picked it out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 1:54 pm

    I’m definitely a blahberer if I don’t sit down first and think through what I want to say during the phone call!

  2. April 15, 2009 9:03 am

    This was so helpful! I got to avoid being a blahberer yesterday, all thanks to you

Leave a Reply

