Skip to content

saints patrick and peter

March 17, 2009

I’m not that big into anniversaries, but since everyone is wearing green, I can’t help but remember that today is my husband’s and my our 3 Year Friendship Anniversary. Though these early Peter sightings meant little at the time,  they have become treasured memories, considering the current state of things!

  1. Winter 2003-2004. I met my friend Lisa‘s parents and brothers in the parking lot of Walgreen’s and Byerly’s, but can’t remember what they looked like because everyone was bundled up in winter gear.
  2. Spring 2004. Lisa’s band concert at Bethlehem. I talked to Lisa’s parents and grandparents, but not to her older brother, because he was talking to Jesse in another part of the sanctuary.
  3. May 2005. East Village Apt 106. I was there for a graduation celebration, and offered a bowl of ice cream to the newest roommate, a familiar-looking fellow that I couldn’t quite place. He accepted it and said, “Hey, are you the Jess that Lisa Melling knows?”
  4. He called the church a couple times and asked me a couple questions at the Info Booth.
  5. He tinkered with his antique movie projector at a friend’s house for a long time, so we could watch a 8mm film about Jesse’s trip to Kosovo. We didn’t interact at all, but I was impressed that he got it to work.
  6. March 17, 2006. The guys at Apt 106 threw a Saint Patrick’s Day party. (Anybody remember the green milk?) I asked Peter for a report on his sister’s wedding, which I had missed the previous weekend. We had a long conversation about work, small group, media, missions, etc. He had neat shoes.

I thank God today and every day for the friendship that started at #6. I love you, Peter!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    March 17, 2009 10:40 am

    We also love Peter and are so thankful that God brought him into your life and ours. He’s a gem. (Would that need to be an emerald in honor of St Patrick’s day?)

  2. Molly Piper permalink
    March 17, 2009 12:23 pm

    This is a cool post. Isn’t it crazy to reflect on those early memories? We have some of those too and they make me laugh when I think of how unaware I was that they’d become significant.

  3. March 17, 2009 1:05 pm

    Fun! Do you remember what shoes were “neat”? I’m glad that your friendship started at number 6 so ours could pick up the pace again!
    🙂 Love you!

    • March 17, 2009 3:02 pm

      They’re black and blue, Bjorns I think. He still has them. I’m sure glad you and I are family now!

  4. March 17, 2009 1:19 pm

    This is so fun! You guys are v. cute! 🙂

    • March 17, 2009 2:43 pm

      Steph! Funny you should comment, because I met you at the party, too. I actually reviewed that day’s journal entry last night, and what do you know, there was Stephanie. Happy 3 Year Friendship Anniversary to you, too!

  5. March 18, 2009 10:33 am

    Great post Jess! East Village Apt. 106 — haha!! fun times!

  6. Evan permalink
    March 26, 2009 10:11 pm

    Where did the making of the video fit into this chronology?
    The video Pete filmed and edited about the fellow visiting BB to meet the fine single women he had heard about?

    I think that’s the first time I “met” you.

    • March 27, 2009 8:31 am

      The movie (One After Another) was made in the course of our dating, but I can’t remember exactly when. That was a lot of fun!

Trackbacks

  1. treasure hunt « ten digit lumber

Leave a Reply

