Skip to content

first email address

March 4, 2009

My first personal email address literally came to me in my sleep. When I was 15 or 16,  I dreamed that a friend was moving away and the two of us decided to keep in touch via email. The address my dream-self provided was solarflair18(at)hotmail(dot)com. I have no idea where that name came from, but my awake-self thought it extremely clever, and snatched up the account as soon as she could. In rural Montana in the 90s, this involved driving my newly-licensed-self 25 miles to the Rosebud County Library, signing up for a 15-minute turn at one of four computers, and dialing up to the world wide web. My life has never been the same. Now that address seems kinda lame, so subsequent emails have been based on my name.

What was your first email address? How’d you come up with it?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 3:10 pm

    rainydayaber@webmail.com

    I’m embarrassed.

  2. Katie H permalink
    March 4, 2009 7:39 pm

    tropic765@yahoo.com

    I was sitting in the den and there just happened to be a bottle of sun tropic tanning lotion sitting nearby. My favorite number was 7, so I guess I thought it would be a good idea to count backwards.

    I still have it and use it for all my junk mail

  3. March 4, 2009 9:31 pm

    Well, mine leads back to freshmen year Spanish when I was the “bebe” of the class. My spanish name was Micaela, which my classmates shortened to Mickey…which became Bebe Miqui! So, my crazy alter ego was born. AND since it’s so unusual in the old net, I can find myself anytime I want.

  4. March 5, 2009 8:42 am

    anika87@yahoo.com

    real original 🙂

  5. Peter permalink
    March 5, 2009 9:27 am

    In 1997, I installed Juno from a disk on my homemade 486DX PC running Windows 3.11 for Workgroups. I put modem in there so that I could dial up to Juno and download my mail.

    My address was something like ‘redscorpion at juno dot com.’

  6. March 5, 2009 2:49 pm

    veeluv00@yahoo.com

    Can’t remember who I “luv-ed” at this time in my life, but there you go. “Vee” was a nickname I went by in high school and I graduated from h.s. in 2000. I prefer my present e-mail: benandveronique@yahoo.com because it reveals that I am married…and to the greatest guy ever.

  7. March 6, 2009 1:00 am

    trent_slipknot@hotmail.com

    Slipknot being the thrash metal band that I somehow felt gave my life of angst some substance in late middle school, early high school. Looking back, some music is just demonic.

  8. March 6, 2009 2:06 pm

    Fun post, Jess! My first email address was jennabean@juno.com.
    How embarrassing to my pre-teen self. Because of the perfectionist that I am, I was unable to come up with THE PERFECT email address in a timely fashion. So my dad “helped” me come up with it based on my life-long nickname from my grandpa.

    Love the nickname, didn’t like the email address.

  9. March 6, 2009 2:47 pm

    Trent makes me smile!

    I cannot even remember my name… I think it was something like jay2023 at yahoo dot com… jay being my nickname and 20 and 23 being athletic numbers or something of “much” significance during my junior high years. YIKES.

  10. March 9, 2009 5:37 pm

    Taramisu7@hotmail.com

    My best friend’s dad used to call me Tiramisu when I was little and I had no idea what that was. Now it’s one of my favorite desserts! I’d always wanted a nickname, and up until the age of 13, my family called me “Chia Pet”(only after singing the obnoxious jingle, of course) because of my crazy poofy curly hair. I understandably chose this new nickname and email address.

  11. March 12, 2009 12:45 pm

    I really like your blog Jess!

    My first email address was pancake-jamboree@mail.com. A friend and I were being goofy and it just kind of stuck. I used it for a while, but then it morphed into pancake_jamboree@hotmail.com when mail.com went away or you needed to pay for it or something like that.

    And now I use my name 🙂

  12. April 24, 2009 1:51 pm

    I don’t remember which came first, but one early email address was MissMerryHeart (nickname bestowed by a beloved Sunday School teacher) and another was OldBlueVolvo (because that’s what I drove).

Leave a Reply

