Skip to content

the gpa question

March 3, 2009

Peter told me that if he took an undergrad class at the U, it could improve his GPA. Confused, I said, “What? You have a GPA?” (Emphasis on have.) I have never consciously thought about a GPA’s place in space and time, and which verb tense should be used on it. Until now.

My bafflement reveals that deep deep down I was rooting for past tense, as in “My GPA was 4.0.” (Hypothetically.) I thought that as you crossed the stage, transferred your tassel and accepted your diploma, your GPA was forever switched from continuing reality to historical fact. I thought I had a GPA, but don’t have one anymore. Now I don’t know what to think!

Wowza. Sometimes that fellow really challenges the way I think about important issues.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. njlaparra permalink
    March 4, 2009 6:23 am

    HAHA, this is interesting. I am enjoying your blog!

  2. March 4, 2009 12:15 pm

    Oh Pete! That is hysterical!

  3. March 5, 2009 2:50 pm

    I remember you just telling me the other day about how the only time you got a 4.0 GPA in college was when Katie and I were in PacRim. Maybe you can once again improve your GPA if Peter left for a missions trip sometime…

  4. March 18, 2009 4:31 pm

    I like how you called Peter “that fellow.”

Leave a Reply

