Skip to content

please have your pen and paper ready

February 26, 2009
tags:

Phone: Ring Ring!

Me: Bethlehem Baptist, this is Jessica!

Caller: Hey, can I get the number for so-and-so?

Me: Sure. <slight pause while I look it up> Here it is…612-000-0000.

Caller: Wait! I have to go get a pen. <shuffle shuffle for 30 seconds> Okay, I’m ready. What was that again?

You’d be surprised how often people call for a phone number and are totally unprepared to receive it. They get all flustered, like, “Oh shoot! She’s answering my question and I’m not ready!” Now that I’m used to it, I find this phenomenon quite amusing!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Davy permalink
    March 4, 2009 8:16 am

    That happens to me all the time! The wonders of working on the phone…

  2. March 5, 2009 3:03 pm

    Haha! I remember people used to call me at the Student Center Desk at NWC and ask me what time it was. Being employed as a receptionist sure has its strange moments and idiosyncrasies.

  3. May 27, 2009 12:00 am

    That is very funny – I always liked that when I worked customer service, I’d answer “Grace to You, this is Morgan, how can I help you?” and would hear in response, more times than you’d guess, “Hi, Grace!”.

    What?

    “Morgan to you!”

Leave a Reply

